Events

Upcoming and On-Going

Guest Lecture/Zine-making Workshop
at First-Year Seminar
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Tuesday, September 20, 2022

Guest Lecture/Zine-making Workshop
at Introduction to Asian American Studies
University of Illinois – Chicago
Friday, September 30, 2022

Writing in Community
Banyan: Asian American Writers Collective’s Monthly Generative Writing Workshop
Every 2nd Saturday of the Month
10:00 AM -12:00 PM Central Time (US)
Now meeting virtually due to COVID-19.
Check Banyan’s FB page for info.

Past Events

AAAPI Artists and Scholars @ SAIC
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
4:15-5:30 PM Central Time (US)


Making in the Interstices: Guest Lecture/Zine-making Workshop
at First-Year Seminar
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Let’s Make a Zine: Guest Lecture/Zine-making Workshop
at First-Year Seminar
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Tuesday, November 16, 2021

Did You Eat Yet?
Banyan: Asian American Writers Collective Celebrates Mia P. Manansala and her book ARSENIC AND ADOBO
Saturday, October 9, 2021
Co-hosts: Hiroki Keaveney and Isabel Garcia-Gonzales
6:00 PM Central Time (US)

Teach-in on Social Justice at Benedictine University
Roundtable Discussion: Conflict & Coalition Between Communities of Color
Monday, March 1, 2021
10:30-11:45 AM Central Time (US)

Talk Stories: An Asian American/Asian Diaspora Storytelling Show
Wednesday, December 16, 2020, 7PM CST
Organized by Ada Cheng & Randy Kim
Co-Sponsors: Chinese American Museum of Chicago, National Cambodian Heritage Museum, and Japanese American Service Committee

Oak Park Asians 4 Black Lives: A Community Conversation about Local Policing Data
Sunday, October 11, 2020, 3PM CDT
Co-Facilitators: Isabel Garcia-Gonzales and Yoko Terretta
Co-Sponsored by Freedom To Thrive Oak Park

Community Building Across Filipinx Literary Diasporas
August 23, 2020, USA, 8PM CDT/6PM PDT
August 24, 2020, Austraila, 11AM EST
August 24, 2020 Philippines, 9AM
Organized by Eunice Andrada as part of The Digital Sala: Virtual Filipinx Literary Festival
Linktr.ee/thedigitalsala

Filipinx Voices from the Midwest: An Evening of Music, Poetry, and Prose
May 9, 2020, 6 PM CT/4 PM PT/7 PM ET
Presented by The Digital Sala: Virtual Filipinx Literary Festival & Banyan: Asian American Writers Collective

Linktr.ee/thedigitalsala

Building Banyan: Asian Americans Writing for Visibility and Social Change
March 6, 2020, 3:20 PM
AWP Conference 2020, San Antonio, TX

%d bloggers like this: